Smart craftsmanship > Stories of Progress > Audi Canada
Audi Canada Stories of Progress
Smart craftsmanship

Smart craftmanship

At the Böllinger Höfe plant, part of the Four Rings’ site in Neckarsulm, Germany, craftsmanship is melded with smart factory technology to produce the fully electric Audi e-tron GT quattro.

Text: AUDI AG   Photo: AUDI AG Reading Time: 6 min

Two Audi technicians assembling the body, battery, electric motors, and suspension of the Audi e-tron GT inside the production plant. Two Audi technicians assembling the body, battery, electric motors, and suspension of the Audi e-tron GT inside the production plant.

As an employee carefully runs a gloved hand over the exterior paintwork of the fully electric e-tron GT quattro, her gaze follows the movement. The vehicle is illuminated with special lighting that allows Audi experts to spot even the smallest imperfections during the rigorous quality control process. In this case, everything is in order. Once an e-tron GT quattro has passed through the final quality check, it’s ready to leave the Böllinger Höfe premises. This final check is where the paintwork, joints, and gaps are put under the microscope one last time. If needed, fine adjustments are also done by hand at this stage. Before getting to this point, production models must first pass through numerous other stations. The Böllinger Höfe plant at the Audi site in Neckarsulm employs innovative, purpose-built technologies to manufacture the fully electric gran turismo.

Wolfgang Schanz, head of production at Audi Böllinger Höfe, explains, “Producing the Audi e-tron GT quattro—and its body in particular—is a highly automated process. Nevertheless, handiwork is part of every assembly line cycle. The truth is that building a car still calls for craftsmanship. Our colleagues perform this work with great attention to detail.” Experience is another key factor. “We’ve carried over all the handicraft skills built up in manufacturing the Audi R8. What’s more, the same passion our employees invested in building the Audi R8 is now being poured into the Audi e-tron GT quattro.” That’s because the production site for the fully electric GT has been making the Audi R8 since 2014. “Right from the concept phase, the Böllinger Höfe plant was designed as a small-series production facility with innovative and flexible production processes,” says the production manager. “That means the location offers ideal conditions for manufacturing the Audi e-tron GT quattro.” 

In order to accommodate vehicle production for both models at one location, the flexible small-series facility was upgraded and expanded. While retaining the strengths of the Neckarsulm-based Audi facility, integrating the Audi e-tron GT quattro has entailed adding new areas of expertise relating to electrification, automation and digitalization.

Building a car still calls for craftsmanship. Our colleagues perform this work with great attention to detail.

Wolfgang Schanz, head of production at Audi Böllinger Höfe

An Audi technician runs a gloved hand along a newly-built Audi e-tron GT, performing the final paintwork quality check.An Audi technician runs a gloved hand along a newly-built Audi e-tron GT, performing the final paintwork quality check.

The two-way framer and correlation-free measuring

It goes without saying that striving to produce high-quality, precision-engineered vehicles is a top priority at Böllinger Höfe. Every process and every flick of the wrist is performed to this end. The body shop is just one example of the perfectly symbiotic relationship between craftsmanship and cutting-edge technology. A number of different joining methods, ranging from resistance spot welding through screws to rivets and bonding, come into play here. At the heart of the shop is a large clamping and attachment system, known as the two-way framer.

“A framer is used to add large assembly groups to the body, ultimately defining its geometry. Traditionally, two such framers, set up as successive assembly lines, are necessary for body construction. At Böllinger Höfe, we have succeeded in combining these steps into a single station that each car body passes through twice. That’s why it has been dubbed the two-way framer,” explains Christoph Steinbauer, head of the body shop. “On the first pass, the inner side panels are attached; the outer ones on the second. Ten robots with 32 tools are on the job, completing the steps required to join the panels to the car body. They automatically switch tools between the two passes and even during the work steps.”

High-angle shot of a piece of the Audi e-tron GT body inside the crucial two-way framer machine. High-angle shot of a piece of the Audi e-tron GT body inside the crucial two-way framer machine.

Another new station is dedicated to correlation-free measuring—an advance on previous inline measurement procedures. Two robot-guided optical measuring heads check the exact dimensional accuracy of the body at 400 different points. At each point, a blue stripe pattern is simultaneously created and scanned before the robotic arm proceeds to the next one. Room cameras detect and constantly compare the exact location of the measuring heads. This method produces ultra-precise data that allows a rapid response to even the smallest deviations. Following this process, the body assembly line also includes two manual stations. Here, machines pass the baton to humans who weld with great precision by hand. The employees at this station benefit from the experience gained working on the Audi R8. Welders who have spent years crafting the sports car with a V10 combustion engine (Fuel consumption, combined*: 13.6–13 l/100km; CO₂ emissions, combined*: 311–297 g/km) entirely by hand are now well-equipped to work on the Audi e-tron GT quattro.

A robotic arm checks 400 points on the frame of an Audi e-tron GT for dimensial accuracy. A robotic arm checks 400 points on the frame of an Audi e-tron GT for dimensial accuracy.

After the body assembly line, the car-in-progress moves on to the mounting stage. Trained body manufacturers mount the car’s fenders, doors, engine hood, and tailgate. This step focuses on achieving precise, uniform gap dimensions and high-quality surfaces—as even the smallest errors here can result in deviations from the desired standard. This is why the job not only calls for meticulous care and attention but is also best achieved through a return to traditional craftsmanship. A trained carpenter with a keen eye and feel for surfaces is a key part of the team. After the mounting stage is completed, the bodies are ready to be painted.

An Audi technician leaning over the frame of an Audi e-tron GT, using his hands to check for accurate gap dimensions. An Audi technician leaning over the frame of an Audi e-tron GT, using his hands to check for accurate gap dimensions.

Driverless transport vehicles and a newly installed electric overhead conveyor rail system

Freshly painted Audi e-tron GT quattro bodies are briefly stored in a high bay in the basement of Böllinger Höfe. From there, driverless transport vehicles (DTV) carry them to the assembly line on the ground floor. They find their way with the help of a navigation map that includes a digital representation of the surroundings. Two laser scanners at the front and rear sound out the surroundings, ensuring that each DTV knows its exact position at all times. Every day, the 20 smart transport vehicles cover a total distance of around 23 kilometers. Not only do they deliver car bodies for assembly, they also carry them during the first cycles and at the end of the line.

At Böllinger Höfe, the Audi e-tron GT quattro and the Audi R8 are manufactured on the same assembly line. To coordinate this joint production process, the number of cycles has been increased from 16 to 36. The logistics experts in charge of the processes carefully choreograph everything—ensuring that the components for each model arrive in the right place, at the right time, and in the right order. To ensure everything would run smoothly, all assembly procedures were tested in advance using VR technology.

A key element of assembly is the “marriage.” This is when the body of the Audi e-tron GT quattro is combined with the battery, electric motors, and suspension. Resting on workpiece carriers, these major technical modules are moved within millimeters of the correct position below the body via a roller conveyor. With the help of self-positioning power screwdrivers—and employees’ equally precise handiwork—parts are screwed together.

A driverless transport vehicle bringing a partially-built Audi e-tron GT to the assembly line, navigating via laser technology. A driverless transport vehicle bringing a partially-built Audi e-tron GT to the assembly line, navigating via laser technology.
 

Virtual reality and 3D scans

The Audi e-tron GT quattro is the first Audi model whose production was planned entirely without physical prototypes—thanks to a combination of factors such as three-dimensional indoor maps, machine learning processes, and virtual reality. As a result, employees were able to test and optimize all assembly processes in virtual rooms.

 

Planning of assembly sequences was done virtually for the most part.

Wolfgang Schanz, head of production at Audi Böllinger Höfe

Human-robot cooperation and assembly aids from the 3D printer

Even though manual precision and dexterity are of primary importance in assembly, robots help out in this area, too—for example, when fitting the front and rear windscreens. Humans and machines collaborate on this work step without safety barriers separating them. This is referred to as human-robot cooperation (HRC). Workers first place the window onto a fixture with automatically adjustable retainers. They then step aside while the robot applies the adhesive. Next, the employees take over again and fit the window to the body with extreme precision.

The 3D printer also makes life easier. At many stations, specially designed assembly aids help the staff work more ergonomically. Employees at the Böllinger Höfe facility who come up with good ideas for improvement don’t have far to go to put them into action. They simply take their proposal to the in-house 3D printing center. In collaboration with a Berlin start-up, the Audi expert team has developed software that reduces the design time for pre-assembly jigs and fixtures by 80 percent. Usually, all that’s required is a sketch and the printed part is created in a matter of hours. This marks yet another big step forward, as Wolfgang Schanz points out: “We have established a lot of new methods, starting with the planning of assembly sequences, which was done virtually for the most part. In the body shop, we have introduced correlation-free measuring. And the assembly aids from the 3D printer that serve as customized solutions for our employees are already proving to be a great asset.”

By pairing extremely flexible, high-tech production with artisanal workmanship, the Böllinger Höfe plant makes a compelling case for enjoying the best of both worlds—craftsmanship and smart factory technology.

Two Audi technicians performing the final quality check on a range of differently-colored Audi e-tron GTs on the assembly line.Two Audi technicians performing the final quality check on a range of differently-colored Audi e-tron GTs on the assembly line.
 
Rear profile of the Audi e-tron GT.

Discover the Audi e-tron GT

Build and price your very own Audi e-tron GT. Plus, learn more about the equipment it comes with, and which interior and exterior options are available to you.

European model shown. Specifications may vary.

You might also be interested in

La finesse d’exécution réinventée > Histoires de Progrès > Accueil
Accueil Histoires de Progrès
La finesse d’exécution réinventée

La finesse d’exécution réinventée

L’Audi e-tron GT quattro entièrement électrique est produite dans l’usine de Böllinger Höfe, à Neckarsulm, en Allemagne. Elle est le produit d’une finesse d’exécution alliée à une production de haute technologie « d’usine intelligente ».

Texte: AUDI AG   Photo: AUDI AG Temps de lecture: 6 min

Deux techniciens Audi assemblent la carrosserie, la batterie, les moteurs électriques et la suspension de l’Audi e-tron GT dans l’usine de production.Deux techniciens Audi assemblent la carrosserie, la batterie, les moteurs électriques et la suspension de l’Audi e-tron GT dans l’usine de production.

La main gantée, une employée caresse avec soin la peinture de la carrosserie de l’Audi e-tron GT quattro entièrement électrique. Son regard accompagne le mouvement. Le véhicule est exposé à une lumière spéciale. La moindre irrégularité sauterait immédiatement aux yeux vigilants des experts Audi lors de leur minutieux contrôle de qualité. Mais il n’y a absolument rien à redire. C’est la dernière étape franchie par l’Audi e-tron GT quattro à Böllinger Höfe : le contrôle final. La peinture, les jointures et les interstices sont examinés à la loupe. Les derniers ajustements peuvent encore être réalisés, au besoin. Avant d’atteindre cette étape, un modèle de série parcourt de nombreux postes. L’usine de Böllinger Höfe, sur le site d’Audi à Neckarsulm, utilise des technologies novatrices spécialement conçues pour fabriquer ce véhicule entièrement électrique.

Wolfgang Schanz, directeur de production à l’usine de Böllinger Höfe d’Audi, explique : « La production de l’Audi e-tron GT quattro – et de sa carrosserie en particulier – est un processus hautement automatisé. Néanmoins, chaque étape de la chaîne de montage recèle une part de travail manuel. Car construire une voiture exige une vraie finesse d’exécution. Nos collaborateurs effectuent ce travail avec un grand souci du détail. » Autre facteur déterminant : l’expérience. « Pour ce modèle, nous nous sommes appuyés sur toutes les compétences artisanales acquises lors de la fabrication de l’Audi R8. Nos collaborateurs vouent la même passion à l’Audi e-tron GT quattro qu’à l’Audi R8. » Car outre la GT entièrement électrique, le site produit également l’Audi R8 depuis 2014. « Dès l’origine, l’usine de Böllinger Höfe a été conçue pour la production en petites séries, en recourant à des processus à la fois flexibles et innovants, poursuit le directeur de production. Ce site offrait donc les conditions optimales pour produire l’Audi e-tron GT quattro. »

Pour permettre la fabrication de ces deux véhicules sur un seul et même site, il a fallu moderniser et agrandir la chaîne de production, qui se distingue notamment par sa flexibilité. Dans le cadre de l’intégration de l’Audi e-tron GT quattro, les points forts du site Audi de Neckarsulm ont été conservés et enrichis de nouvelles compétences dans les domaines de l’électrification, de l’automatisation et de la numérisation.

«Construire une voiture exige une vraie finesse d’exécution. Nos collaborateurs effectuent ce travail avec un grand souci du détail. »

Wolfgang Schanz, directeur de production de l’usine de Böllinger Höfe d’Audi.

Un technicien Audi passe une main gantée sur une Audi e-tron GT nouvellement construite pour la dernière vérification de la qualité de la peinture.Un technicien Audi passe une main gantée sur une Audi e-tron GT nouvellement construite pour la dernière vérification de la qualité de la peinture.

Double fixation et mesure sans corrélation

À l’usine de Böllinger Höfe, la priorité absolue est la production de véhicules de haute qualité et de précision Chaque processus et chaque geste s’inscrivent dans cette intention. L’atelier de carrosserie n’est qu’un exemple de la parfaite symbiose entre finesse d’exécution et technologie de pointe. Différents modes d’assemblage sont utilisés : la soudure par points par résistance, le vissage, le rivetage ou encore le collage. Au cœur de l’atelier se trouve un immense dispositif d’assemblage : la double fixation.

« Un robot assemble les grands composants de la carrosserie et définit ainsi sa géométrie. Dans la construction de carrosserie standard, les installations de fixation sont généralement utilisées en deux étapes. À Böllinger Höfe, nous sommes parvenus à réunir ces deux étapes en une seule et même installation, que chaque carrosserie traverse deux fois. D’où le nom de double fixation », explique Christoph Steinbauer, directeur de l’atelier de carrosserie. « Les panneaux latéraux intérieurs sont assemblés au cours d’une première étape, puis les panneaux extérieurs lors d’une seconde étape. Au cours de cette procédure, dix robots équipés de 32 outils procèdent aux jointures et aux fixations de la carrosserie. Les outils sont échangés automatiquement entre les deux passages, et même pendant les étapes de travail. »

Vue en plongée d’une section de la carrosserie de l’Audi e-tron GT dans la machine cruciale de double fixation.Vue en plongée d’une section de la carrosserie de l’Audi e-tron GT dans la machine cruciale de double fixation.

Une autre étape est consacrée à la mesure sans corrélation, qui marque une vraie avancée par rapport aux précédentes procédures de mesure en ligne. Deux têtes de mesure, pilotées par des robots, vérifient si les dimensions de la carrosserie ont été respectées avec exactitude. Elles contrôlent plus de 400 points de mesure pour chaque carrosserie. Un motif à rayures bleues est créé puis scanné sur chacun de ces points. Le bras du robot se rend ensuite au point suivant. Des caméras saisissent la position exacte des têtes de mesure et les ajustent continuellement. Les données ultra-précises ainsi générées sont utilisées pour réagir le plus rapidement possible aux moindres écarts. Outre ces installations, il existe également deux postes manuels sur la chaîne de montage. Ici, l’homme prend le relais sur la machine : les soudures de précision y sont réalisées à la main. L’expérience acquise dans la production de l’Audi R8 est utile. Les soudeurs qui ont travaillé pendant des années à la conception d’une voiture sport équipée d’un moteur à combustion V10 (consommation combinée* : 13 à 13,6 L/100 km; émissions de CO₂ combinées* : 311 à 297 g/km) entièrement à la main sont maintenant bien équipés pour travailler sur l’Audi e-tron GT quattro.

Un bras robotisé vérifie 400 points sur le cadre d’une Audi e-tron GT pour assurer la précision dimensionnelle. Un bras robotisé vérifie 400 points sur le cadre d’une Audi e-tron GT pour assurer la précision dimensionnelle.

Au montage succède l’assemblage. Des carrossiers chevronnés assemblent les ailes, les portes, ainsi que le capot et le hayon. Durant cette étape de la production, une attention toute particulière est portée à la précision et à la régularité des espacements, ainsi qu’à la qualité des surfaces, car même les plus petites erreurs à ce stade pourraient entraîner des écarts par rapport à la norme désirée. D’où la nécessité d’y accorder le plus grand soin. C’est pourquoi nous faisons appel à l’expertise issue du savoir-faire traditionnel. Un charpentier formé avec un œil attentif et une bonne perception des surfaces est un élément clé de l’équipe. Après avoir été assemblée, la carrosserie est ensuite peinte.

Technicien Audi penché sur le cadre d’une Audi e-tron GT qui utilise ses mains pour vérifier les dimensions exactes des espacements.Technicien Audi penché sur le cadre d’une Audi e-tron GT qui utilise ses mains pour vérifier les dimensions exactes des espacements.

Systèmes de transport autonomes et nouveau rail aérien électrique

Les carrosseries fraîchement peintes de l’Audi e-tron GT quattro sont temporairement entreposées dans des rayonnages situés au sous-sol de l’usine de Böllinger Höfe. Des systèmes de transport autonomes les acheminent ensuite vers la chaîne de montage située au rez-de-chaussée. Ces systèmes s’orientent à l’aide d’une carte de navigation qui présente une image numérique de leur environnement. Deux lecteurs laser à l’avant et à l’arrière sondent les environs, ce qui garantit que chaque système autonome connaît sa position exacte à tout moment. Ces 20 robots intelligents parcourent ainsi chaque jour quelque 23 kilomètres. Non seulement ils acheminent les carrosseries jusqu’à la chaîne de montage, mais servent également de véhicules de transport en début et en fin de ligne de production.À l’usine de 

Böllinger Höfe, l’Audi e-tron GT quattro et l’Audi R8 sont fabriquées sur la même chaîne de montage. Pour coordonner ce processus de production conjointe, le nombre de cycles est passé de 16 à 36. Les experts en logistique chargés des processus chorégraphient soigneusement chaque étape tout en veillant à ce que les composants de chaque modèle arrivent au bon endroit, au bon moment et dans le bon ordre. Pour que cette phase se déroule sans accrocs, toutes les étapes du montage ont déjà été répétées au préalable à l’aide d’une technologie de réalité virtuelle.

Le « mariage » est l’élément central de l’assemblage. Au cours de cette étape, la carrosserie de l’Audi e-tron GT est équipée de batteries, de moteurs électriques et de suspension. Ces grands composants sont placés sur un support de pièce qui est positionné au millimètre près sous la carrosserie, grâce à un convoyeur à rouleaux. La batterie est ensuite vissée sur les composants d’entraînement à l’aide de visseuses autopositionnables et des gestes tout aussi précis de nos employés.

Un système de transport autonome qui conduit une Audi e-tron GT partiellement construite à la chaîne de montage grâce à des capteurs laser.Un système de transport autonome qui conduit une Audi e-tron GT partiellement construite à la chaîne de montage grâce à des capteurs laser.
 

Réalité virtuelle et numérisation 3D

L’Audi e-tron GT quattro est le premier modèle Audi dont la production a été entièrement planifiée sans avoir recours à des prototypes physiques, grâce à une combinaison de facteurs comme la cartographie intérieure tridimensionnelle, les processus d’apprentissage automatique et la réalité virtuelle. Ainsi, les employés ont pu tester et optimiser tous les processus d’assemblage dans des salles virtuelles.

 

«La plupart du temps, la planification des processus d’assemblage s’est faite virtuellement.»

Wolfgang Schanz, directeur de production de l’usine de Böllinger Höfe d’Audi.

Coopération homme-robot et dispositifs d’aide à l’assemblage issus de l’imprimante 3D

Même si la précision et la dextérité manuelles sont essentielles à l’assemblage, des robots y contribuent également, par exemple, pour le montage du pare-brise et de la lunette arrière. Durant cette étape, hommes et machines travaillent de concert, sans la barrière de protection habituelle. C’est ce que l’on appelle la coopération homme-robot. Les collaborateurs placent d’abord la vitre sur un dispositif équipé de récepteurs automatiquement ajustables. Ils cèdent ensuite la place au robot qui applique la colle, puis entrent à nouveau en jeu pour poser la vitre avec précision sur la carrosserie.


L’imprimante 3D facilite également leur mission. De nombreux postes sont équipés de dispositifs d’aide à l’assemblage spécialement conçus pour garantir une ergonomie optimale. Si un collaborateur de l’usine de Böllinger Höfe souhaite suggérer une idée d’amélioration, il lui suffit de contacter directement le centre d’impression 3D. L’équipe d’experts Audi a développé, en collaboration avec une entreprise en démarrage de Berlin, un logiciel permettant de réduire de 80 % les temps de construction des dispositifs de préassemblage. Une simple esquisse suffit généralement pour que la pièce souhaitée soit disponible en quelques heures. Il s’agit d’un grand pas en avant, comme le souligne Wolfgang Schanz : « Nous avons établi de nombreuses nouvelles méthodes, à commencer par la planification des processus d’assemblage qui ont lieu virtuellement, la plupart du temps. Dans l’atelier de carrosserie, nous utilisons un système de mesure sans corrélation. Et les dispositifs d’aide à l’assemblage issus de l’imprimante 3D se sont avérés être des solutions sur mesure optimales pour nos collaborateurs sur la chaîne de montage. »

En associant une production de haute technologie extrêmement flexible à un travail artisanal, l’usine de Böllinger Höfe bénéficie du meilleur des deux mondes : la finesse d’exécution et la technologie d’usine intelligente.

Deux techniciens Audi effectuent le contrôle de qualité final sur une gamme d’Audi e-tron GT de couleurs différentes sur la chaîne de montage.Deux techniciens Audi effectuent le contrôle de qualité final sur une gamme d’Audi e-tron GT de couleurs différentes sur la chaîne de montage.
 

Vous pourriez aussi être intéressé par