Detective work in the wind tunnel > Stories of Progress > Audi Canada
Audi Canada Stories of Progress
Detective work in the wind tunnel

Detective work in the wind tunnel

In the Audi aeroacoustic wind tunnel, aerodynamics specialists are perfecting the shape of the Audi RS e-tron GT.

Copy: Bernd Zerelles − Photo: Robert Fischer Film: graupause Reading Time: 9 min

Close-up of light shining through the turning vanes in the Audi aeroacoustic wind tunnel.Close-up of light shining through the turning vanes in the Audi aeroacoustic wind tunnel.

The first thing you notice when looking at the fan in the Audi aeroacoustic wind tunnel is that gap between each of the tips of the 20 blades on the wind tunnel rotor and the concrete surround. Several perplexing centimetres. Is this an energy-wasting lack of precision? Dr. Moni Islam, Head of Development Aerodynamics & Aeroacoustics at Audi, provides reassurance: “When the turbine runs at the maximum power output of 2,720 kW, the centrifugal force stretches the aluminum-coated blades, almost completely closing this gap. After all, we’re generating the same force here as a wind speed of up to 300 km/h acting on the test vehicle.”

Then, everyone has to leave the wind tunnel. The 20 blades of the five-metre-wide fan slowly start to turn. The rotated airflow is initially stabilized by the 27 guide vanes of the stator behind. Two corners follow where the air is distributed evenly through specially designed turning vanes. Grids downwind from the vanes break up the worst of the turbulence, which is unavoidable in the vicinity of the corners and the fan. The air then passes through a honeycomb layer to straighten the flow and into a large stilling chamber downstream. It is then accelerated through the nozzle at a factor of 5.5 before reaching the Audi RS e-tron GT in the plenum, the main chamber, at exactly the desired speed.

Light coming through the vertical turning vanes in the Audi aeroacoustic wind tunnel. Light coming through the vertical turning vanes in the Audi aeroacoustic wind tunnel.
Thomas Redenbach, Head of Development Aerodynamics & Aeroacoustics at Audi, runs his hand along the side of the Audi aeroacoustic wind tunnel. Thomas Redenbach, Head of Development Aerodynamics & Aeroacoustics at Audi, runs his hand along the side of the Audi aeroacoustic wind tunnel.
Side profile of a column of air flowing over an RS Audi e-tron GT in the wind tunnel.Side profile of a column of air flowing over an RS Audi e-tron GT in the wind tunnel.

The vehicle stands on a precision scale which measures the aerodynamic forces on the vehicle. Its wheels stand on four small belts which ensure that they turn at the wind speed. A wide belt under the car simulates the movement of the carriageway relative to the vehicle at all running speeds. In addition, precision-adjustable perforated plates in the floor in front of the vehicle extract part of the airflow—the so-called boundary layer—before it reaches the car. Aerodynamicists call this design “full ground simulation”: This helps guarantee realistic air circulation around the vehicle.

Once the air has passed the Audi RS e-tron GT, the widened stream from the plenum is captured by the downwind collector and directed back into the wind tunnel circuit and to the rotor turbine. This completes the cycle of the air through the Audi aeroacoustic wind tunnel—and if you think it sounds complicated, that’s because it truly is.


Dr. Kentaro Zens, the aerodynamicist responsible for the Audi RS e-tron GT, standing under the underbody of an RS e-tron GT.Dr. Kentaro Zens, the aerodynamicist responsible for the Audi RS e-tron GT, standing under the underbody of an RS e-tron GT.
Dr. Kentaro Zens and Thomas Redenbach discuss the RS e-tron GT in front of a computer in the observation room at the Audi aerodynamics testing facility.Dr. Kentaro Zens and Thomas Redenbach discuss the RS e-tron GT in front of a computer in the observation room at the Audi aerodynamics testing facility.

Going to great lengths to achieve the perfect airflow

Dr. Kentaro Zens, the development engineer responsible for the aerodynamics and aeroacoustics of the Audi RS e-tron GT, says: “On the road, the vehicle moves through the air. Here in the wind tunnel, it’s the exact opposite: The vehicle is stationary and we channel the air around it as evenly as possible. We go to great lengths to achieve the perfect airflow. Only when the airflow hits the vehicle at precisely the right point are we able to take exact measurements that we can rely on.”

Zens sits at his workstation, next to the control panel where the operators regulate the wind tunnel. He can read all the relevant data on screens: What is the drag coefficient, how high is the front-axle lift, how high is the rear-axle lift, at what wind speed and what belt speed?

Standing next to him is Thomas Redenbach, Head of Development Aerodynamics/Aeroacoustics – Vehicle Projects: “When the wind tunnel center went into operation, it was the first car wind tunnel worldwide to combine ground simulation of real-world road conditions for aerodynamics with such extremely quiet aeroacoustic functionality.”

Every thousandth by which we can improve the drag coefficient leverages potential in terms of range

Dr. Moni Islam

Portrait of Dr. Moni Islam, Head of Development Aerodynamics & Aeroacoustics at Audi, standing in front of the wind tunnel's active silencer. Portrait of Dr. Moni Islam, Head of Development Aerodynamics & Aeroacoustics at Audi, standing in front of the wind tunnel's active silencer.
Close-up of how airflow behaves after passing by the exterior mirror of the Audi RS e-tron GT.Close-up of how airflow behaves after passing by the exterior mirror of the Audi RS e-tron GT.
Close-up of the computer and workstation of the aerodynamicists at Audi.Close-up of the computer and workstation of the aerodynamicists at Audi.

Simulation cannot replace the wind tunnel

Nevertheless, computer simulations are also playing an increasingly important role in aerodynamic development. CFD (Computational Fluid Dynamics) simulation reproduces airflow on the computer to enable analysis and visualization of flow patterns. So why the time-consuming and expensive work in the wind tunnel? Thomas Redenbach says: “The wind tunnel is our everyday tool and also enables us to validate the results from the simulation. We want to keep developing the simulations and, in order to ensure they are valid and representative, we have to check the calculations.

Yet computer simulations are getting better and better and becoming more and more important. Kentaro Zens says: “With the Audi RS e-tron GT, we did an exceptionally large amount of simulation work—over nine million CPU hours. I spent 150 hours in the wind tunnel with the vehicle, which isn’t very much at all. By way of comparison, it was 600 hours for the Audi R8.” This indicates not only the quality of the Audi RS e-tron GT design but also that the development process was significantly shorter—a path Audi is aiming to take also with future models.

Moni Islam adds: “The wind tunnel and CFD are two complementary tools for the aerodynamicist. The wind tunnel is very accurate and quick, enabling us to work highly efficiently in the dynamic development process. Simulation provides us with an incredible amount of information but requires effort in terms of preparation and analysis of the results. With only one of these two tools, state-of-the-art aerodynamic development would not be possible.”

We invest an enormous amount of time in the last 20 percent of the aerodynamics

Thomas Redenbach

Leveraging potential in terms of range

For electric vehicles like the Audi RS e-tron GT, the full package offers benefits in terms of aerodynamics—the closed underbody being just one example of where this applies. But the challenges facing the 31-strong aerodynamic vehicle development staff in Moni Islam’s department are growing. He defines their aim as follows: “Every thousandth by which we can improve the drag coefficient leverages potential in terms of range.”

Aerodynamicists identify this potential in the vehicle through simulation results that indicate sensitivities: If I change the geometry slightly at point X of the shape, how much does that affect the airflow? And then begins what Islam describes as this: “Aerodynamics is also meticulous detective work because you can’t see the air. You have to try to narrow down the problem using an analytical approach based on the values delivered by the scale in the wind tunnel.”

To achieve this, the engineers also work with different add-on parts in a rapid prototyping process. Firstly, CAD designs are created to define the geometries of the components—for example, an air intake on the front spoiler. The colleagues from model management then convert the desired variants, of which there may be multiple, into a test component. The different variants of the components are then tested in sequence on the vehicle model. The measurements provide drag coefficient and lift values. These results are then selectively compared with the CFD simulations of exactly the same configuration to ensure reproducible simulation results.

Two Audi aerodynamicists inspect the underbody of an Audi RS e-tron GT on a raised platform. Two Audi aerodynamicists inspect the underbody of an Audi RS e-tron GT on a raised platform.
Close-up of a hand pointing out the plastic lip on the underbody of the Audi RS e-tron GT that directs airflow efficiently. Close-up of a hand pointing out the plastic lip on the underbody of the Audi RS e-tron GT that directs airflow efficiently.

Detective work for every thousandth

“You can develop 80 percent of a vehicle’s aerodynamics in 20 percent of the time. But we invest an enormous amount of time in the last 20 percent of the aerodynamics—teasing out the thousandths in a host of tiny optimizations,” says Thomas Redenbach, describing the detective work in the wind tunnel. “It takes this high level of dedication and attention to detail to produce top-quality results.”

So what was the most difficult detail in terms of airflow in this Gran Turismo for the aerodynamics experts responsible for the Audi RS e-tron GT? Kentaro Zens thinks for a while. “The front spoiler with its four interconnected components. The air flows into the intakes, the shutter inside closes—and that’s when the problem starts. The air flows all over the place and you don’t want that. Keeping the airflow under control here and fine-tuning it precisely is critical. It’s a huge team effort as the colleagues from vehicle safety, design, production and assembly all have to work with me.”

Zens also makes specific reference to the design of the so-called air curtains in interaction with the wheel arch: “We had close coordination with the Audi designers on a weekly basis. This resulted in an optimal aerodynamic transition from the front end to the side around the air curtain that also fits seamlessly into the overall design as a coherent theme. Everything about the Audi RS e-tron GT has a function and a purpose. That’s authentic functionality, which is something I really like about the vehicle.”

Side profile of the wheel of an Audi RS e-tron GT, a smoke lance demonstrating how the air flows past the wheel arch. Side profile of the wheel of an Audi RS e-tron GT, a smoke lance demonstrating how the air flows past the wheel arch.

The aim of aerodynamics is to facilitate design.

Dr. Kentaro Zens

Zens also tested the positioning of the rear spoiler millimetre by millimetre in the wind tunnel to determine the best option. And another example is also close to his heart: The angle integrated into the taillight. “There is a lot of turbulence at the rear of the Audi RS e-tron GT, in particular due to its pronounced three-dimensional shape. Guiding the airflow cleanly around this is a challenge. In the simulation, we saw that there was still room for improvement around the taillight.”

Fortunately, César Muntada, Head of Light Design at Audi, was also present during this wind tunnel measurement. He quickly modeled a slight outward curve into an indentation in the taillight on the clay model, which now appears in exactly the same form on the production vehicle. This modification enabled designers and aerodynamicists to ensure that the airflow breaks away at the rear in a controlled manner instead of turning inward and creating turbulence (which would significantly impact the drag coefficient). “In aerodynamics, we aim to facilitate design,” says Kentaro Zens, describing this collaboration. And that includes meticulous detective work in the wind tunnel.

Side profile of the rear spoiler of an Audi RS e-tron GT, a smoke lance demonstrating how the air flows over it. Side profile of the rear spoiler of an Audi RS e-tron GT, a smoke lance demonstrating how the air flows over it.
Close-up of the rotor turbine inside the Audi aeroacoustic wind tunnel.Close-up of the rotor turbine inside the Audi aeroacoustic wind tunnel.
 

You might also be interested in

À la recherche de la perfection dans la soufflerie Audi > Histoires de Progrès > Accueil
Accueil Histoires de Progrès
À la recherche de la perfection dans la soufflerie Audi

À la recherche de la perfection dans la soufflerie Audi

Dans la soufflerie aéroacoustique Audi, les spécialistes en aérodynamique optimisent la forme de l’Audi RS e-tron GT jusqu’à atteindre la perfection.

Texte: Bernd Zerelles − Photos: Robert Fischer  Film: graupause Temps de lecture: 9 min

Gros plan de la lumière qui traverse les aubes directrices dans la soufflerie aéroacoustique Audi.Gros plan de la lumière qui traverse les aubes directrices dans la soufflerie aéroacoustique Audi.

Lorsque l’on examine le ventilateur dans la soufflerie aéroacoustique Audi, la première chose que l’on remarque, c’est l’écart entre chacune des extrémités des 20 pales du rotor et le caisson en béton. Un écart de plusieurs centimètres qui laisse perplexe. S’agit-il d’un manque de précision qui fait gaspiller de l’énergie? Moni Islam, responsable du développement de l’aérodynamique et de l’aéroacoustique chez Audi, explique : « Lorsque la turbine fonctionne à la puissance d’entraînement maximale de 2 720 kW, les pales en aluminium s’allongent sous l’effet de la force centrifuge, de sorte que cet écart est presque complètement comblé. Après tout, nous générons ici la même force qu’un vent pouvant atteindre une vitesse de 300 km/h sur le véhicule d’essai. »

Tout le monde doit alors évacuer la soufflerie. Les 20 pales du ventilateur de cinq mètres de large se mettent lentement à tourner. Le débit d’air en rotation est d’abord stabilisé par les 27 aubes directrices du stator situé à l’arrière. Deux changements de direction se produisent ensuite dans la soufflerie, où des aubes en rotation spécialement conçues répartissent l’air de manière uniforme. Les grilles en aval des aubes dissipent les turbulences les plus fortes qui se forment inévitablement à proximité des coins et du ventilateur. L’air passe ensuite à travers une structure en nid d’abeille pour orienter l’écoulement dans une grande chambre de stabilisation en aval. Enfin, il est accéléré par un facteur de 5,5 à travers la buse avant d’atteindre de plein fouet l’Audi RS e-tron GT, dans le plénum, la chambre principale, à la vitesse souhaitée.


Lumière qui traverse les aubes directrices verticales dans la soufflerie aéroacoustique Audi.Lumière qui traverse les aubes directrices verticales dans la soufflerie aéroacoustique Audi.
Thomas Redenbach, responsable du développement de l’aérodynamique et de l’aéroacoustique chez Audi, passe sa main sur la soufflerie aéroacoustique Audi.Thomas Redenbach, responsable du développement de l’aérodynamique et de l’aéroacoustique chez Audi, passe sa main sur la soufflerie aéroacoustique Audi.
Profil latéral d’une colonne d’air au-dessus d’une Audi RS e-tron GT dans la soufflerie.Profil latéral d’une colonne d’air au-dessus d’une Audi RS e-tron GT dans la soufflerie.

Le véhicule est placé sur une balance de précision qui mesure les forces aérodynamiques agissant sur le véhicule. Ses roues sont placées sur quatre mini-tapis roulants qui veillent à ce que les roues tournent à la vitesse du vent. Un large tapis roulant placé sous la voiture simule le mouvement de la chaussée par rapport au véhicule à toutes les vitesses. De plus, une partie de l’écoulement d’air, appelée couche limite, est aspirée par des plaques perforées réglables avec précision situées au sol devant le véhicule avant qu’il n’atteigne ce dernier Les spécialistes en aérodynamique appellent cette construction « simulation au sol complète ». Cela aide à garantir une circulation d’air réaliste autour du véhicule.

Une fois que l’air a dépassé l’Audi RS e-tron GT, le flux élargi du plénum est capté par le collecteur à l’arrière et renvoyé dans le circuit de la soufflerie, vers la turbine à rotor. Ainsi s’achève le cycle de l’air dans la soufflerie aéroacoustique Audi – et si vous trouvez cela compliqué, c’est parce que ça l’est vraiment.


Kentaro Zens, aérodynamicien responsable de l’Audi RS e-tron GT, sous le soubassement de carrosserie d’une RS e-tron GT.Kentaro Zens, aérodynamicien responsable de l’Audi RS e-tron GT, sous le soubassement de carrosserie d’une RS e-tron GT.
Kentaro Zens et Thomas Redenbach discutent de la RS e-tron GT devant un ordinateur dans la salle d’observation des installations d’essais aérodynamiques d’Audi.Kentaro Zens et Thomas Redenbach discutent de la RS e-tron GT devant un ordinateur dans la salle d’observation des installations d’essais aérodynamiques d’Audi.

Un procédé complexe pour obtenir un écoulement d’air parfait

Kentaro Zens, responsable du développement de l’aérodynamique et de l’aéroacoustique de l’Audi RS e-tron GT précise : « Sur la route, le véhicule se déplace dans l’air. Ici, dans la soufflerie, c’est exactement l’inverse : le véhicule est à l’arrêt et nous faisons circuler l’air le plus uniformément possible autour de lui. Nous mettons tout en œuvre pour obtenir un écoulement d’air parfait. Ce n’est que lorsque l’écoulement d’air atteint le véhicule précisément au bon point que nous pouvons prendre des mesures exactes et fiables. »

Kentaro Zens est assis à son poste de travail, à côté du pupitre de commande, où les opérateurs contrôlent la soufflerie. Il peut voir sur les écrans toutes les données pertinentes : quel est le coefficient de traînée, quelle est la portance de l’essieu avant, quelle est la portance de l’essieu arrière, quelle est la vitesse du vent et du tapis roulant?

À ses côtés se trouve Thomas Redenbach, responsable du développement de l’aérodynamique et de l’aéroacoustique des véhicules en projet : « Lorsque la soufflerie a été mise en service, c’était la première soufflerie pour véhicules de tourisme au monde à combiner la simulation au sol des conditions réelles sur route pour l’aérodynamique avec une fonctionnalité aéroacoustique aussi silencieuse. »

«Chaque millième d’amélioration du coefficient de traînée augmente le potentiel d’autonomie.»

Dr. Moni Islam

Portrait de Moni Islam, responsable du développement de l’aérodynamique et de l’aéroacoustique chez Audi, devant le contrôle actif du bruit de la soufflerie.Portrait de Moni Islam, responsable du développement de l’aérodynamique et de l’aéroacoustique chez Audi, devant le contrôle actif du bruit de la soufflerie.
Gros plan sur l’écoulement d’air après le rétroviseur extérieur de l’Audi RS e-tron GT.Gros plan sur l’écoulement d’air après le rétroviseur extérieur de l’Audi RS e-tron GT.
Gros plan de l’ordinateur et du poste de travail des spécialistes en aérodynamique chez Audi.Gros plan de l’ordinateur et du poste de travail des spécialistes en aérodynamique chez Audi.

La simulation ne remplace pas la soufflerie

Néanmoins, les simulations informatiques jouent un rôle de plus en plus important dans le développement aérodynamique. La simulation CFD (Computational Fluid Dynamics, ou mécanique des fluides numérique) recrée l’écoulement de manière informatique et permet l’analyse et la visualisation des mouvements de flux. Alors, pourquoi maintenir le travail complexe et coûteux de la soufflerie? Thomas Redenbach répond : « La soufflerie est notre outil quotidien qui nous permet également de confirmer les résultats de la simulation. Nous voulons développer encore davantage les simulations. Pour pouvoir les valider et les rendre représentatives, nous devons vérifier les calculs. »

Toutefois, les simulations informatiques s’améliorent et deviennent de plus en plus importantes. Kentaro Zens déclare : « Pour l’Audi RS e-tron GT, nous avons simulé un nombre d’heures particulièrement élevé : plus de neuf millions d’heures de calcul. J’ai passé 150 heures dans la soufflerie avec le véhicule, ce qui est très peu. À titre comparatif, pour l’Audi R8, j’y ai passé 600 heures. » Cela montre non seulement la qualité du design de l’Audi RS e-tron GT, mais aussi que le processus de développement a été considérablement raccourci, une voie qu’Audi s’efforce de suivre pour ses futurs modèles.

Moni Islam ajoute : « La soufflerie et la CFD sont deux outils complémentaires de l’aérodynamique. Très précise et rapide, la soufflerie nous permet de travailler de manière très efficace sur le processus de développement dynamique. La simulation, quant à elle, nous fournit une quantité incroyable d’informations, mais elle nécessite de gros efforts de préparation et d’analyse des résultats. Un seul de ces deux outils ne suffirait pas à assurer le développement aérodynamique moderne. »

«Nous investissons énormément de temps dans les derniers 20 % du processus d’aérodynamique. »

Thomas Redenbach

Tirer parti du potentiel en matière d’autonomie

Pour les véhicules électriques comme l’Audi RS e-tron GT, les deux techniques profitent à l’aérodynamisme (déjà en raison du soubassement fermé). Toutefois, les défis auxquels sont confrontés les 31 collaborateurs du service de développement aérodynamique de Moni Islam sont de plus en plus nombreux « Chaque millième d’amélioration du coefficient de traînée nous permet d’augmenter le potentiel d’autonomie », explique Moni Islam.

Les spécialistes en aérodynamique identifient le potentiel du véhicule à l’aide de résultats de simulation qui indiquent des sensibilités : si je modifie légèrement la géométrie au point X de la forme, quelle en est l’influence sur l’écoulement d’air? Commence ensuite le travail que Moni Islam décrit comme suit : « L’aérodynamique est aussi un travail de détective méticuleux, car nous ne pouvons pas voir l’air. Nous devons essayer d’isoler le problème à l’aide d’une approche analytique basée sur les valeurs données par la balance de la soufflerie. »

À cette fin, les ingénieurs travaillent également avec différentes pièces rapportées sur le procédé de prototypage rapide. Des conceptions de CAO sont tout d’abord créées pour définir la géométrie des composants, par exemple une entrée d’air au niveau de la jupe avant. Ensuite, les collaborateurs de la gestion des modèles convertissent les variantes souhaitées, qui peuvent être multiples, en un composant de test à l’aide de cette technologie de pointe. Les différentes variantes des composants sont ensuite successivement testées sur le modèle du véhicule. Les mesures reflètent le coefficient de traînée et la portance. Ces résultats sont comparés aux simulations CFD avec une configuration exactement identique afin de garantir la reproductibilité des résultats de simulation.

Deux spécialistes en aérodynamique chez Audi inspectent le soubassement de carrosserie d’une Audi RS e-tron GT sur une plateforme surélevée.Deux spécialistes en aérodynamique chez Audi inspectent le soubassement de carrosserie d’une Audi RS e-tron GT sur une plateforme surélevée.
Gros plan d’une main montrant la lèvre en plastique du soubassement de l’Audi RS e-tron GT qui dirige efficacement l’écoulement d’air.Gros plan d’une main montrant la lèvre en plastique du soubassement de l’Audi RS e-tron GT qui dirige efficacement l’écoulement d’air.

« Pour 80 % de l’aérodynamique d’un véhicule, il faut 20 % du temps. Mais pour les 20 % restants, qui consistent à identifier les améliorations de l’ordre du millième à apporter à de nombreux petits endroits, nous passons énormément de temps, explique Thomas Redenbach, en décrivant le travail de détective réalisé dans la soufflerie. Ce n’est qu’au prix de tous ces efforts et d’une attention particulière portée aux détails que nous pouvons produire des résultats optimaux. »

Du point de vue de l’écoulement d’air, quel a été le détail le plus difficile sur ce modèle Gran Turismo pour les spécialistes en aérodynamique responsables de l’Audi RS e-tron GT? Kentaro Zens réfléchit un moment. « La jupe avant avec ses quatre composants qui s’imbriquent. Comme l’air pénètre dans les entrées, le volet intérieur se ferme, mais cela pose un problème. L’air circule partout et ce n’est pas ce que nous recherchons. Il est essentiel de contrôler la répartition de l’air et de l’adapter avec précision. C’est un énorme travail d’équipe, qui demande les efforts conjoints et coordonnés de mes collègues des services de sécurité des véhicules, de construction, de production et d’assemblage. »

Zens souhaite notamment attirer l’attention sur la conception des dénommés rideaux d’air en combinaison avec le passage de roue : « L’étroite coordination hebdomadaire avec les concepteurs Audi nous a non seulement permis d’optimiser aérodynamiquement le passage de la partie avant à la partie latérale au niveau du rideau d’air, mais aussi de l’intégrer de manière cohérente à la conception globale. Le moindre élément de l’Audi RS e-tron GT a une fonction et un sens. Ce modèle a un caractère fonctionnel authentique qui me plaît énormément. »

Profil latéral de la roue d’une Audi RS e-tron GT pendant qu’un canon à fumée montre l’écoulement d’air au-delà du passage de roue.Profil latéral de la roue d’une Audi RS e-tron GT pendant qu’un canon à fumée montre l’écoulement d’air au-delà du passage de roue.

«L’aérodynamique vise à faciliter le design. »

Dr. Kentaro Zens

Zens a aussi testé le positionnement de l’aileron arrière millimètre par millimètre dans la soufflerie pour déterminer la meilleure option. Un autre exemple lui tient à cœur : le rebord intégré au bloc de feux arrière. « L’arrière en trois dimensions de l’Audi RS e-tron GT comporte justement de nombreuses turbulences. Diriger l’écoulement précisément autour constitue un véritable défi. La simulation nous a permis de constater qu’il y avait un potentiel d’amélioration au niveau du bloc de feux arrière. »

Heureusement, César Muntada, responsable de la conception éclairage chez Audi, était présent lors de cette mesure en soufflerie. Il a rapidement modélisé sur le modèle en argile un léger pli extérieur avec un retour dans le bloc de feux arrière, qui est à présent monté sur les véhicules de série. Cette modification a permis aux concepteurs et spécialistes en aérodynamique d’interrompre de manière définie l’écoulement d’air à l’arrière, au lieu de le faire glisser vers l’intérieur en créant des turbulences (ce qui dégraderait considérablement le coefficient de traînée). « L’aérodynamique vise à faciliter le design », explique Kentaro Zens pour décrire cette collaboration. Et cela nécessite également un méticuleux travail de détective dans la soufflerie.

Profil latéral de l’aileron arrière d’une Audi RS e-tron GT, pendant qu’un canon à fumée montre l’écoulement d’air au-dessus.Profil latéral de l’aileron arrière d’une Audi RS e-tron GT, pendant qu’un canon à fumée montre l’écoulement d’air au-dessus.
 Gros plan de la turbine à rotor de la soufflerie aéroacoustique Audi. Gros plan de la turbine à rotor de la soufflerie aéroacoustique Audi.
 
Profil latéral de l'Audi RS e-tron GT.

Une idée devenue réalité

L’Audi RS e-tron GT allie des performances et un design impressionnants à une conception porteuse d’avenir.

Modèle européen montré. Les spécifications peuvent varier.

You might also be interested in