A glimpse of the future > Stories of Progress > Audi Canada
Audi Canada Stories of Progress
A glimpse of the future

A glimpse of the future

With its futuristic technology, elegant design, and the practicality of a runabout, the Audi A6 e-tron concept is a study representing the all-electric executive class.

Text: AUDI AG Photo: AUDI AG Reading Time: 5 min

A side view of the Audi A6 e-tron concept.A side view of the Audi A6 e-tron concept.

Breathtaking design

The Audi A6 e-tron concept uses the same fresh design language and perfect proportions first seen in the Audi RS e-tron GT. Its long wheelbase, short overhangs, flattened cabin resting on large wheels, dynamic coupé roofline, and soft, evocative contours accentuating the quattro muscles make for a powerful package. Highlighted in colour as the heart of the car, the battery keeps the vehicle looking slim and agile when viewed from the side.

As the body’s contours lack hard edges, the shadows cast by convex and concave surfaces fade out softly. Viewed head-on, the Audi A6 e-tron concept presents a striking face in the shape of the streamlined, enclosed, and optically inverted Singleframe grille. An aerodynamic spoiler lip wraps around the tail, which also features a high-tech rear diffuser below.

The Audi A6 e-tron concept offers living proof that aerodynamics is not just a time-honored area of expertise at Audi, but also a core design characteristic. This is a highly attractive electric vehicle that skillfully fuses form and function. After all, the fact that the Audi A6 e-tron concept boasts a drag coefficient of 0.22 is instrumental to its electric range.


Stated specifications not applicable to all markets.
A detail shot of the concept car’s Singleframe.A detail shot of the concept car’s Singleframe.
Close-up of a camera-based exterior mirror. Close-up of a camera-based exterior mirror.

Progressive lighting technology

Progressive styling is a thread that runs throughout the car—from the exceptionally slim front headlamp design to the rear end’s clean cut, shaped by a light strip integrated into the rear window. Thanks to a new generation of digital OLED elements that serve as a display, drivers can choose from a wide range of customizable digital light signatures and dynamic light animations.

Digitalization and progressive lighting technology are also prominent at the front of the Audi A6 e-tron concept. Audi designers have developed a video game that the digital Matrix LED headlights can project onto an area of wall in front of the vehicle, spanning several meters—so when the car is charging, occupants can stand directly next to or in front of it and play on a larger scale, rather than using the virtual cockpit screen.

LED projectors on the vehicle create glowing triangles on the ground. LED projectors on the vehicle create glowing triangles on the ground.

The special touches in the Audi A6 e-tron concept don’t end there: Three small, high-resolution LED projectors are integrated into each side of the body. When occupants open the doors, dynamic light animations greet them with words in their home language. More importantly, the projectors also create hazard signs on the ground to warn approaching cyclists that the door is opening. Additional LED projectors located at the vehicle’s four corners can also produce modifiable indicator projections and warnings.

These LED projectors expand the scope of the car’s communicative capabilities beyond the vehicle itself. Thanks to intelligent networking in the vehicle, the Audi A6 e-tron concept1 uses visual signals to share information with other road users.

Close-up of the concept car’s air curtain intakes. Close-up of the concept car’s air curtain intakes.
A detail shot of the rear spoiler. A detail shot of the rear spoiler.

Forward-looking electric platform

The Audi A6 e-tron concept is built on a completely new technology architecture—the Premium Platform Electric (PPE). As a dedicated battery-electric propulsion platform, the PPE is engineered specifically to fully leverage all of the drive system’s advantages. Positioned between the axles, the battery module—which in the Audi A6 e-tron concept1 produces 100 kilowatts of power—is its nerve center. Making use of the entire vehicle base provides a relatively flat layout for the battery.

The PPE bears the Audi signature in the form of the premium powertrain, chassis, electronic technology, and premium quality standards. It comes as no surprise that the Audi A6 e-tron concept1 also has quattro drive. Electric motors on both the front and rear axles generate a total output of 350 kilowatts and torque of 590 lb-ft.

Compelling everyday practicality

Standing 1.44 metres tall, the Audi A6 e-tron concept is 4.96 metres long and 1.96 metres wide. In other words, its proportions are very similar to those of the current Audi A6 or A7. The interior of the Audi A6 e-tron concept feels very spacious. Eliminating the transmission tunnel and extending the wheelbase makes for lots of room in the interior.

A side view of the vehicle’s tail, highlighting the quattro muscle on the wheel arches, which segues into a digital OLED light display. A side view of the vehicle’s tail, highlighting the quattro muscle on the wheel arches, which segues into a digital OLED light display.

You might also be interested in

Un aperçu de l’avenir > Histoires de Progrès > Accueil
Accueil Histoires de Progrès
Un aperçu de l’avenir

Un aperçu de l’avenir

Avec sa technologie futuriste, son design élégant et sa commodité pour un usage quotidien, l’Audi A6 e-tron concept représente la catégorie des voitures de luxe entièrement électriques.

Texte: AUDI AG Photo: AUDI AG Temps de lecture: 5 min

Vue latérale du véhicule conceptuel Audi A6 e-tron.Vue latérale du véhicule conceptuel Audi A6 e-tron.

Une conception remarquable

L’Audi A6 e-tron concept poursuit l’approche introduite par l’Audi RS e-tron GT avec ses proportions parfaites et son langage de conception innovant. L’empattement allongé, les porte-à-faux courts et l’habitacle plat sur de grandes roues se combinent au toit Coupé dynamique et à ses courbes douces et évocatrices accentuant les muscles de la traction quattro, pour former un ensemble puissant. L’emplacement de la batterie, le cœur du véhicule, est mis en évidence dans le soubassement par une couleur sur le bas de caisse latéral, ce qui donne au véhicule un aspect élancé et dynamique.


Comme les contours de la carrosserie sont conçus sans arêtes dures, cela garantit des dégradés d’ombres lisses entre les surfaces convexes et concaves. Vue de face, l’Audi A6 e-tron concept1 présente une allure saisissante avec sa grande calandre monocadre aérodynamique fermée à optique inversée. L’arrière arbore un aileron aérodynamique enveloppant et accentué en haut et un diffuseur arrière marqué, technologique et fonctionnel en bas.

L’Audi A6 e-tron concept1 montre également que l’aérodynamique n’est pas seulement une discipline classique chez Audi, mais aussi un élément clé du design. Il en résulte un véhicule électrique hautement attractif qui allie forme et fonction. Après tout, le fait que l’Audi A6 e-tron concept1 présente un coefficient de traînée de 0,22 contribue grandement à son autonomie électrique élevée.

Les spécifications énoncées ne s’appliquent pas à tous les marchés.
Vue détaillée de la calandre monocadre de la voiture conceptuelle.Vue détaillée de la calandre monocadre de la voiture conceptuelle.
Gros plan d’un rétroviseur extérieur avec caméra.Gros plan d’un rétroviseur extérieur avec caméra.

Technologie d’éclairage d’avant-garde

Le style avant-gardiste est un élément que l’on retrouve dans tout le véhicule, du design exceptionnellement élancé des phares avant à la coupe épurée de la partie arrière, façonné par une bande lumineuse intégrée à la lunette arrière. Grâce à une nouvelle génération de phares numériques à DELO qui servent d’écran, les conducteurs peuvent choisir parmi une vaste gamme de signatures lumineuses numériques personnalisables et d’animations lumineuses dynamiques.


La numérisation et la technologie d’éclairage d’avant-garde occupent également une place importante à l’avant de l’Audi A6 e-tron concept. Les phares à matrice de DEL numérique peuvent projeter un jeu vidéo développé par les concepteurs d’Audi sur le mur devant le véhicule, sur plusieurs mètres de large. Ainsi, lorsque le véhicule se recharge, les passagers peuvent faire l’expérience d’une nouvelle dimension de jeu à côté ou juste devant le véhicule, plutôt que sur l’écran du cockpit virtuel.

Des projecteurs à DEL sur le véhicule projettent des triangles lumineux au sol.Des projecteurs à DEL sur le véhicule projettent des triangles lumineux au sol.

L’Audi A6 e-tron concept présente une autre particularité : trois petits projecteurs à DEL haute résolution sont intégrés sur les côtés de la carrosserie. À l’ouverture des portes, ils accueillent les passagers par des animations lumineuses dynamiques comportant des mots dans leur langue maternelle. Encore plus important : les projecteurs diffusent également des symboles de danger sur le sol pour avertir les cyclistes à l’approche avant l’ouverture des portes du véhicule. Aux quatre coins du véhicule, d’autres projecteurs à DEL créent des indicateurs clignotants variables pour émettre des avertissements.

Ces projecteurs à DEL élargissent la portée des capacités de communication du véhicule au-delà du véhicule lui-même. Grâce à la mise en réseau intelligente, l’Audi A6 e-tron concept1 utilise des signaux visuels pour transmettre de l’information aux autres usagers de la route.

Gros plan des entrées des rideaux d’air de la voiture conceptuelle.Gros plan des entrées des rideaux d’air de la voiture conceptuelle.
Vue détaillée de l’aileron arrière.Vue détaillée de l’aileron arrière.

Plateforme électrique tournée vers l’avenir

L’Audi A6 e-tron concept repose sur une toute nouvelle architecture technologique : la plateforme électrique haut de gamme (Premium Platform Electric ou PPE). Conçue exclusivement et spécifiquement pour l’entraînement électrique à batterie, la PPE peut exploiter pleinement tous les avantages de cette technologie. Son élément central réside dans le module de batterie situé entre les essieux, qui offre une puissance de 100 kWh dans l’Audi A6 e-tron concept. L’utilisation de l’ensemble de la base du véhicule permet une disposition relativement plane de la batterie.

La PPE comporte tous les éléments qui caractérisent les véhicules Audi : technologies de pointe pour le groupe motopropulseur, le châssis et l’électronique, et normes de qualité supérieure. Il n’est donc pas étonnant que l’Audi A6 e-tron concept soit également équipée de la traction quattro.Les moteurs électriques des essieux avant et arrière génèrent une puissance totale de 350 kilowatts et un couple de 590 lb-pi.

Une commodité convaincante au quotidien

L’Audi A6 e-tron concept mesure 4,96 mètres de long, 1,96 mètre de large et 1,44 mètre de haut. Cela correspond aux dimensions d’une Audi A6 ou A7 actuelle. L’habitacle de l’Audi A6 e-tron concept semble très spacieux. La suppression du tunnel de transmission et le prolongement de l’empattement permettent un gain d’espace intérieur.

Vue latérale de l’arrière du véhicule mettant en valeur la traction quattro sur les passages de roue qui se fond dans l’éclairage à DELO numérique.Vue latérale de l’arrière du véhicule mettant en valeur la traction quattro sur les passages de roue qui se fond dans l’éclairage à DELO numérique.

Vous pourriez aussi être intéressé par